Goodbye Purdue and America

gateway-arch

This is it. This is really happening. The day I thought would never come is almost here; it’s time to say goodbye to Purdue.

It’s true what they say – studying abroad really is a life in a year, not a year in your life. I almost feel like a completely different person after this experience. I’ve learned a lot within my field of study and about life, and even about myself. I’ve learned my best is always good enough no matter what, and there are more important things than being perfect.

But most of all, I’ve had a lot of fun. I’ve met people from all over the world who I hope will be my friends for life. I’ve been on amazing trips to Toronto and Tennessee. And I’ve shared many special moments on campus with my American and international friends.

A few of my favorite moments are not special at all, just spending time with my friends in the grass on a warm day are memories that make me smile. That tells me it doesn’t matter where you are and what you do, what matters is who you’re with.

But I will miss this place, not only the people. Purdue and the U.S. represent the college life I’ve always dreamed of. Purdue made me feel part of something bigger than just going to school; the campus is about community, not only about education.

Thank you for following my journey in America. Unfortunately, this will be the last blog post about my experience. But there is one remaining thing for me at Purdue, one thing that will make my American experience complete: graduation.

Purdue will let me take part in the graduation ceremony, even though I’m not officially graduating from here. I get to wear a cap and gown and graduate with my friends, just like I’ve seen in the movies.

That will be a day of tears, both happiness and sadness. How can I enjoy graduation to the fullest when it means I’m saying goodbye to the best experience of my life? But I hope it’s just a temporary goodbye, that I’m coming back in the future.

Once a Boilermaker, always a Boilermaker.

Leave a Reply

