My American dream

img_3
Line dancing in a barn, “Hannah Montana: The Movie”.

Have you seen “Hannah Montana: The movie”? It’s a movie for kids, I guess, and it’s not very exciting, but it had a great impact on me. Everyone that studies abroad in the U.S. chooses to do so for a reason. I found some of my reasons in “Hannah Montana”.

The movie takes place in Tennessee – on the beautiful countryside where people use horses for transportation and the idea of a party is line dancing in a barn. “Awesome, I want to do that,” Ida, 18 years old, thought.

But the dream of going to America started a few years earlier, thanks to another movie. It’s a little embarrassing to admit this, but “High School Musical” is the reason I fell in love with studying in the U.S. The movie just made it seem so fun to go to an American school with all its student clubs and athletic programs, and the fact that people just randomly start singing and dancing in class was very appealing.

high_school_musical2
Having fun in the cafeteria, “High School Musical.”

It was a little disappointing to come to Purdue and realize that people use cars instead of horses, and that no one breakdances on the tables or sings in the cafeteria. My American dream was maybe a misconception, but one department where Purdue delivers is the student clubs. I get my share of my childhood dream dancing in the salsa club and attending other clubs’ events.

I’d like to think of my Purdue experiece as if it’s a movie itself. I’ve experienced some of those college clichés you see in American movies: I’ve made friends with the athletes, I joined a student organization, I’ve been asked out by a stranger, and I’ve been to a barn wedding – things that Americans might overlook, but are typically American to the rest of the world.

Leave a Reply

